Accreditation & Awards : Robert Morris University Accreditation & Awards | Robert Morris University

Program Accreditation


Robert Morris University is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. The RMU Actuarial Science Program received the coveted designation of Center of Actuarial Excellence (CAE) from the Society of Actuaries. The undergraduate Engineering degree programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,

111 Market Place Suite 1050

Baltimore, MD 21202-4012

Telephone: (410) 347-7700.


RMU received its first official accreditation notice in August 2001 in the minimum amount of time permitted under ABET regulations. This accreditation was extended retroactively to the first graduating class. In August 2010, after completing a rigorous self-study process, the University received a reaccreditation through 2016, which is the maximum allowed by the Commission.


ABET accreditation assures that RMU's degrees meet educational standards and effectively prepare graduates for professional practice.

RMU was in the first cohort consisting of only 10 U.S. schools to receive the honor of Center of Actuarial Excellence in early 2010.  It is based on a rigorous evaluation of all aspects of the program by the largest North American actuarial professional organization. As of 2016 there are just 17 CAE schools in the U.S. 

The RMU Actuarial Science program mission is to provide a comprehensive, full-service actuarial education comparable to those found at much larger institutions.  The CAE designation confirms our ability to do so.  We are among the smallest schools on the CAE list, and pride ourselves in our unique environment and small, informal classes.  

 National Recognition 5